Am I really hungry?

You wake up get ready for the day, time to eat breakfast. Noon comes, lunch break, time to eat. 3pm time for an afternoon snack. Then it’s time for supper. Have to eat again. Clean your plate, don’t waste your food. Snack while your watching TV. All very normal. It’s what has been taught. It’s what been preached. We have been programmed to set our day and our lives around eating times. When the clock strikes a certain hour it’s time to eat. But is it necessary? Do we rally need to eat every time the clock or tradition tells us to?

I just broke a fast, not a long drawn out one, just 46 hours. I did this to rest my body because of an over indulgence in peanut butter last week-end. I was fighting cravings for sweet foods. The evil sugar in the peanut butter had done me in. After a whole 4 days of wanting to rip my face off, and other people heads, I decided to just going off of everything might help. I wanted to listen to my body not my mind. Not the clock. I drank my coffee, drank my water, and kept busy around the house. Anything to keep my mind off the food.My last bite of food was a slice of cheese at 8pm on Thursday night. I ended my fast on Saturday night at 6pm, with a wonderful bacon cheeseburger. (no bun of course)

During this I noticed, I wasn’t really hungry. My tummy might have been growling a bit but I wasn’t hungry. I felt fine. In fact the longer I went the better I felt. I enjoyed my walking on an empty stomach. I slept better. I got up earlier on Saturday morning and felt better than Friday morning. Most important my sugar cravings are gone!

So before you eat something ask yourself, am I really hungry? Are you, or is it just “time to eat”?

http://www.zazzle.com/are_you_really_hungry_magnet-147696074250034577

Might have to get a couple of these to put around the house.

 

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. I Lost Over 100 Pounds
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 13:34:11

    I did a 3 day fast back in January. I started it because I ate so much food on the 3rd, I really wasn’t hungry on the 4th. Then, I decided to test how long I could go before I was really starving(just as an experiment not a weight loss plan).

    It wasn’t until the second night that I woke up really hungry, but I was able to fall back asleep and when I woke up things were normal again.

    I could have gone longer, but I read online that some people can faint or have extreme dizziness after 3 days. I needed to be out and about in my car which would not be safe so I broke my fast.

    I do agree that we have been programmed to eat. The worst Pavlovian response we have built into our system is eating while watching TV. We have done it for so long that the second we sit down and turn on the TV our brain releases hunger signals that aren’t real.

    Have a great week.

    The Grumpy Man

    Reply

Leave a Reply

